Subscribe                     
     
vegan miam

Vegan & Gluten-Free Kare-Kare (Filipino Peanut Stew)



After several days in the kitchen testing and altering recipes, I finally perfected my Vegan & Gluten-Free Kare-Kare (Filipino Peanut Stew) with banana blossom, adapted from the recipe of the fabulous Astig Vegan and served with her tasty vegan bagoong (’shrimp-free paste’), which is now available to order here. I have ZERO experience in Filipino . . .

How to Prepare Banana Blossom



A few years ago when I was visiting Manila, one of the most memorable dishes I tried was a traditional Filipino peanut stew called Kare-Kare with bagoong. Having little experience cooking Filipino food, I went to the wonderful Astig Vegan and adapted her Kare-Kare recipe and used her delectably salty-fermented vegan bagoong. One of the . . .

#InstaLately: May 2014



For those of you who don't use Instagram, I thought I could show you what I've been up to lately aka InstaLately this May. Should I do this more often? Follow @veganmiam for more updates. Puss xx Top row, from left: (1) Finally tried Earth Balance Kettle Chips, Cheddar. (2) From Greece: Violife cheese slices (new . . .

Roasted Golden Beetroot, Quinoa + Kale Salad



There's always something exciting at the Farmers' Market. One of the things I'm loving from the market at the moment are the golden beetroots. I've had golden beetroot-based dish in a restaurant, but I've never used them in my dishes before. Golden beetroots are easy to prepare and won't bleed like red beetroots (another reason . . .

Taco Beer Flatbread Pizza with Roasted Corn & Poblano



It is never too late to celebrate a national holiday in Mexico and the U.S., Cinco de Mayo, also known as the Anniversary of the Battle of Puebla. In the spirit of the Americanized Mexican holiday, I’ve made a pizza with delicious Mexican flavors. There’s always Mexican cuisine around our kitchen - everything from  red or green . . .

Vintners’ Alliance: Vegan Wine Review



We enjoy a bit of wine, but it’s not always easy to find confirmed vegan wines. Unfortunately in the production of beer and wine, some producers that still use animal by-products as fining agents (essentially a filtration process). Along with gelatin, some of the non-vegan fining agents are casein, albumen and isinglass . . .